Sea (The Huntress Trilogy #1) by Sarah Driver Review

In the sky, the fire spirits dance and ripple. Grandma says they showed our Tribe that I’d be a captain, before I was even born.

Ever since Ma died, Mouse has looked after her little brother, Sparrow, dreaming of her destiny as captain of the Huntress. But now Da’s missing, Sparrow is in danger, and a deathly cold is creeping across Trianukka . . .

Sea-churning, beast-chattering, dream-dancing, whale-riding, terrodyl-flying, world-saving adventure. The first book in a stunning new fantasy adventure trilogy, perfect for readers aged 9+ and fans of Philip Pullman, Piers Torday, Abi Elphinstone, Katherine Rundell and Frances Hardinge.

buy links

Amazon ◊ Barnes & Noble ◊ Audible ◊ Kobo ◊ Book Depository Goodreads 

my review

Sea (The Huntress Trilogy #1)Sea by Sarah Driver
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

I’m rarely reading childrens books but when I do, I know I’m usually in for a good treat. And this story is simply wonderful. I feel in love with the main character and her friends and family. I especially loved her grandmother. Mouse is so brave, fearless, compassionate and has so much courage, I really enjoyed her character. She has big dreams and even bigger steps to fill in. I’m not going to go into the plot, since no matter what I say, I would for sure be giving away some of the mystery and joy of discovering this book’s potential. All I can say is that it’s a pleasure to read and you won’t regret doing it.

View all my reviews

 

Leave a Reply

