Review for Somniare by D.T. Dyllin

Remy Novem was murdered…

But she didn’t die.

Forced to escape to Somniare, a dream landscape, Remy must somehow survive living nightmares, and endless torment without using her magic. Her only hope for freedom is to hitch a ride with a human back into reality, tricking the poor creature into believing no harm will befall them.

Remy isn’t troubled by the fact that she must kill to live…

Until love changes everything.

BUY ON

         

And in print here:

bbb66-goodreads

MY REVIEW

Somniare by D.T. Dyllin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

ARC received in exchange for an honest review.

Hmm, now this is an interesting read. I don’t often read books where you have a world of dreams, where of course everything there is out to get you and kill you. Also the main characters are simply fascinating. The PNR really makes the story so much better, having a normal human in a dream world would be compared to this plot be just so boring and uneventful. The blurb tells you a lot about what’s going to happen but there are some twists I sure didn’t see coming and wow did I like them. Since this is not a stand-alone book I can’t wait for the sequel to come out. I have a feeling we haven’t seen anything yet and the second book better not disappoint!
Anyway, back to this story. The main character, Remy (can’t help but remember Remy from Real Series by Katy Evans, lol) is a strange, kinda spoiled but with a good heart character. At first I didn’t know what o make of her but at the end she really did grow on me and now I think she’s actually a pretty cool character, flaws and all. What surprised me the most is her sexual orientation. I won’t go into details, since that would give away too much of the plot but I liked how the author put her spin on this whole relationship thing. That was definitely refreshing and I don’t read many books that have that type of sexuality in them, so that to me was a big plus and made me like the story even more. What I can say about her love interest is that I get it, the whole reason why things happened the way they did but I would have loved to see more romance, as in more touchy feelings scenes. Since this is a YA there is obviously no sex but for this story it works quite good.
Of course, what’s a good story without a villain, right? Well, let’s just say that I’m really looking forward to the sequel since the fun for them is only beginning.

For such a short story there was a lot going on and I think YA and  PNR fans will like it. 🙂

the somniare series

The sequel is coming out oct. 18th!!! Pre-order here!

About author

D.T. Dyllin is a bestselling author who writes both paranormal and contemporary romance. Anything with a love story is her kryptonite. Her obsession with affairs-of-the-heart is what first drove her to begin twisting her own tales of scorching romance.

D.T. was born and raised in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. (Black & Gold for life, baby!) She now lives in Little Rock, Arkansas with her husband and two spoiled German Shepherds.

4 thoughts on “Review for Somniare by D.T. Dyllin

Leave a Reply

