Review and Release Day for A Promise of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #1) by Amanda Bouchet

Title: A Promise of Fire
Author: Amanda Bouchet
Publisher: Sourcebooks
Publication date: 08/02/2016
Series: Kingmaker Chronicles, #1
Pages: 448

A Promise of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #1)Catalia “Cat” Fisa is a powerful clairvoyant known as the Kingmaker. This smart-mouthed soothsayer has no interest in her powers and would much rather fly under the radar, far from the clutches of her homicidal mother. But when an ambitious warlord captures her, she may not have a choice…

Griffin is intent on bringing peace to his newly conquered realm in the magic-deprived south. When he discovers Cat is the Kingmaker, he abducts her. But Cat will do everything in her power to avoid her dangerous destiny and battle her captor at every turn. Although up for the battle, Griffin would prefer for Cat to help his people willingly, and he’s ready to do whatever it takes to coax her…even if that means falling in love with her.

7f759-goodreads

Indiebound Amazon Barnes & Noble Books-A-Million Chapters Indigo iTunes

my review

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

ARC received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

description
Oh my god!!!! This book…this book!!! I just can’t form the words to describe how amazing and fantastic this story is! I have to have the second book, Breath of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #2), ASAP! Like, I’m in serious withdrawal and that’s not good! Nope, not at all! Something like that has never ever happend before. I recently watched Jesse’s vlog and I feel just like him in that video. So judging by that, there are some tough times before me. Like half a year tough times, since the next book doesn’t come out till January 2017 and the final book in this trilogy comes out in March 2017, according to Book Depository pre-order. I’m telling you, I’m going to be in agony, waiting, crying and hoping for the book to release sooner.

description
But let’s get back to the actual plot. It’s just brilliantly done! I loved every second of it and now I obviously want more! There word the author build up is so amazing. You have magic, you have wars, you have historical times and you also have this wonderful journey that you simply have to be part of. I admit that I had this book for a while befire a actually started reading it and what a huge mistake that was! Once I started I couldn’t stop! It was like in invisible force that just drew me in and kept me there till it was finished with me.

This book is made for fans that like to read fantasy/romance books! It has some adult scenes in it but if you take that out, you have a fantastic YA fantasy book and I would bet fans of Sarah J. Maas and Laini Taylor will love this story! It’s seriously that good!

Aside from the amazing world, I loved all the characters. No joke! I honestly loved all of them, even the bad guys. Of course Griffin and Cat stole my heart first but the others weren’t far behind. Each character has so much personality and that made the story so much more enjoyable. I also love to see the changes in them over the flow of their journey and how they in the end became friends (most of them). And don’t even get me started on the plot twists and the BIG secret Cat is keeping from Griffin. I can’t wait to see how that plays out! And Cat’s mother! I bet that once she makes her appearance heads are going to roll, literally! Oh man, did I mention I can’t wait to read the sequel?
There is so much going on!!! And my personal favourite, when do we get to see Hades? I know there’s something else going on with him and Cat and I can’t wait to find out just what exactly that is! This book is such an adventure! It’s the world of magic, war and love and we all know that when it comes to those things, there are no rules to be broken! Only the strong and cunning shal survive!

Gaaaah, I need the sequel NOW!!! Seriously folks, READ THE BOOK!!! You won’t regret it!

description

About the author

Amanda Bouchet

Amanda Bouchet grew up in New England where she spent much of her time tromping around in the woods and making up grand adventures in her head. It was inevitable that one day she would start writing them down. Drawing on her Greek heritage for the setting and on her love of all things daring and romantic for the rest, her debut trilogy, The Kingmaker Chronicles, took form. She writes what she loves to read: epic exploits, steamy romance, and characters that make you laugh and cry.

Her first novel, A Promise of Fire, won several Romance Writers of America chapter contests, including the Orange Rose Contest and the paranormal category of the prestigious Golden Pen.

A French master’s graduate and former English teacher, Amanda lives in Paris, France. She met her husband while studying abroad, and the family now includes two bilingual children who will soon be correcting her French.

You can follow her on Facebook and Twitter. For updates and exclusives, sign up for Amanda’s newsletter.

Leave a Reply

