Release day blitz & Giveaway: Scarlett Cole – The Purest Hook (Second Circle Tattoos, #3)

27757900

The Purest Hook (Second Circle Tattoos, #3) by Scarlett Cole is live!!!

Blurb

Can a love built on secrets survive?

Rugged, hot, and rock hard, Dred Zander is exactly the type of man that normally sends Pixie running. Not dreaming about running her hands down his washboard abs…and lower. The lead singer and guitarist for the band Preload embodies trouble behind his quick smile and guarded eyes, and Pixie left trouble behind her years ago along with the name Sarah Jane Travers and the pathetic trailer her mom called home. With her abusive past in her past, she has a new life, a new family at Second Circle, and a dream of opening her own business. She needs capital and time. What she doesn’t need is a tempting long-haired rocker or the paparazzi that follow him around.

But Dred has other ideas. Pixie’s sweet hazel eyes, purple hair and kaleidoscopic tattoo of exotic flowers that swirl up her arm haunt his dreams, and he knows she wants him too. He just has to convince her. But as a juicy exposé threatens to expose their pasts, and a blackmailer terrorizes their present, Pixie and Dred have to decide what really matters and fight like hell to keep it.

Buy on

                                                kindle nook kobo ibooks_badge

Add on

goodreads

 

  All things, when placed under pressure, eventually break or leave a mark. Tattoo artist Brody "Cujo" Matthews knows how to keep things simple. In life and in love. Abandoned as a child by a mother who refused to stick around to raise three boys she didn't want, he's intent on staying clear of complicated women. The only things complicated in Cujo’s life are the killer tattoos he designs and inks. That all changes when he’s asked to help organize his best friend Trent's engagement party, which means working with Trent's fiancée's best friend, Drea, the definition of high maintenance and sizzling curves. And the one woman he doesn’t want to walk away from. Andrea "Drea" Caron is broke and tired. After years of caring for her ailing mom, she's at the end of her rope trying to manage the piling medical bills, two jobs, and a life placed on hold. She certainly doesn’t need the added frustration of a sexy playboy tattoo artist messing up her best friend’s engagement party or her carefully balanced life. But when Drea witnesses the abduction of a woman from the café she works at, she can’t help but turn to Cujo who’s determined to prove to Drea that he’s someone she can count on forever…but as they attempt to bring the truth to light, someone is working to bring that forever to a sudden, deadly halt.

Giveaway

What’s to win?

  • A signed paperback of The Strongest Steel or
  • one of two $25 Amazon Giftcards

Click on the picture below to enter the giveaway.

The giveaway closes on May 23/24 (depending on your time zone).

Good luck!!!

My review

3,5 STARS

This is the first time I’ve read anything from this author and I have to say I’m not disappointed. When I first read the blurb I thought why not give it a try. I love books about rock stars but who doesn’t, right? So, if nothing else, that definitely sold me to read the story. Since this is a series and I (shame on me) didn’t read the first two books, I still didn’t have any problems understanding the plot and characters. I love all of them, they seem like a fun bunch to hang out with. I hope Jordan gets his story, soon. I really want to know about his past and why his room looks the way it does.

description

Right, back to Dred and Pixie’s story. Wow, where to start? I have a feeling those two danced around each other for a while and I loved how Dred would always ask Pixie when they’d go on a date and she would then give him an impossible answer, like Not until it snows on the Sahara. Also their other ‘game’ was very sexy and amusing, so thumps up for that.

description

Both knew how to have a great time but while they certainly had fun they both held back secrets that neither of them wanted to share. At least not just yet and that’s all thanks to their horrible past that left deep scars. A past that is linked to drug abuse. I know what you might think right now, they both used them and what not but that’s not the case. Basically their childhood was real shity and those who were supposed to protect them failed at it big time! I guess Pixie’s guardian angels turned out to be Trent and Cujo, her bosses, who found her literally on their doorstep and helped her get back on her feet. And as for Dred, he and his bandmates were all dealt a bad hand and together they fought to make the best out of it. And guess what, they succeeded big time in becoming one of the big shots in music industry.

description

But as Dred and Pixie grew closer, those close guarded secrets started to catch up to them and they
would either make them or break them. There were many ups and downs and to be honest I didn’t like how Dred’s drama played out. I think it was resolved way too easily, since in real life those things take a lot more time, patience and above all money. But the twist at the end of the story, now, that one I liked big time. I always love action in my reads, so that was a big plus for me for sure. Also, the secondary characters were awesome, I can’t wait to read their stories.

Would I re-read the story? Probably not anytime soon BUT would I recommend it, absolutely! So go and get it now!

description

 

About Scarlett Cole

The tattoo across my right hip says it all really. A Life Less Ordinary. Inked by the amazingly talented Luke Wessman at the Wooster Street Social Club (a.k.a. New York Ink). Why is it important? Well, it sums up my view on life. That we should all aspire to live a life that is less boring, less predictable. Be bold, and do something amazing. I’ve made some crazy choices. I’ve been a car maker, a consultant, and even a senior executive at a large retailer running strategy. Born in England, spent time in the U.S. and Japan, before ending up in Canada were I met my own, personal hero – all six and a half feet of him. Both of us are scorpios! Yeah, I know! Should have checked the astrological signs earlier, but somehow it works for us. We have two amazing kids, who I either could never part with or could easily be convinced to sell on e-bay.

I’ve wanted to be a writer for a really long time. Check through my office cupboards or my computer and you’ll find half written stories and character descriptions everywhere. Now I’m getting the chance to follow that dream.

I am represented by Beth Phelan at The Bent Agency, NY.

Scarlett

facebook twitter instagram

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

