Dirty (Dive Bar, #1) by Kylie Scott

BLURB

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a broken hearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that comes with her.

Lydia Green doesn’t know whether to burn down the church or sit and cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it’s with his best man is another thing all together. She narrowly escapes tying the knot and meets Vaughan only hours later.

Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessman she thought she’d marry. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and unsettled. But she already tried Mr. Right and discovered he’s all wrong-maybe it’s time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what’s wrong with getting dirty?

REVIEW

I loved it! From the first word to the last, the story and characters just kept my attention. I’m definitely a fan of this author and her series Stage Dive. And when I got the chance to read Dirty, I obviously jumped at the opportunity that I absolutely do not regret! I’m glad this story isn’t a stand alone but a series, because I couldn’t get enough of Vaughan and Lydia.

description

I admit, their story has a bit of an unusual start but that made it that more interesting. I mean, who would have thought that a runaway bride, that broke into your home and hid in your shower, would in the end become your best friend.

description

I adored these two. They definitely knew how to have fun and push each others buttons. But above that, they knew how to be there and comfort, when one was in a bad place. Sure, they had their insecurities and ups and downs, but that’s exactly what made me believe in their relationship and feelings. I loved that not everything was perfect and that they both had real life problems that needed to be aknowledged and confronted.

None of it should have been funny, but it was hilarious. And we, our lives, were the joke. I guess sometimes there’s no right response but to laugh. So we did. Strangely enough, it really did help.
Thing is, sometimes crazy works.

I loved being in Lydia’s head. She’s this smart, spunky, at times sarcastic chick that went through a bad time but still came back swinging. I think what I liked about her the most is her genuine willingness to help her friends. And while I liked her POV I wished we would have gotten Vaughan’s, too. At times I wondered what he thought or felt but I guess in the end it didn’t matter anymore because by then I fully believed in his character and emotions he had for Lydia. Vaughan’s character is trully a great one. He’s funny, charming, kind and knows how to please a woman. But at times also he could be a real asshole that redeemed himself quite quickly, too.

“That was a trap. You lifted your arms up,” he grumbled, brows turned down. Never had a man looked quite so oppressed. “What was I supposed to do?”

description

Also, their friends were amazing. They sure knew how to have a good time, so that overshadowed the drama they were part of. We even go to see a bit of Mal from Stage Dive, so that was awesome. I can’t wait for the newcouples stories, I’m sure they will be amazing.
All that’s left to say is that Dirty is definitely a read worth your time! It sure as heck didn’t disappoint me!

description

ARC received via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

GET IT NOW!!!

amazon-buy-now-button

barnes__noble

goodreads

 ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kylie is a New York Times and USA Today best-selling author. She was voted Australian Romance Writer of the year, 2013, by the Australian Romance Writer’s Association and her books have been translated into six different languages. She is a long time fan of romance, rock music, and B-grade horror films. Based in Queensland, Australia with her two children and husband, she reads, writes and never dithers around on the internet.

Contact her at kylie@kylie-scott.com

Leave a Reply

